Found an original Ford Four Seasons topper...for free!

Off-topic items. No tech discussion, please

Moderator: FORDification

Site & Forum Admin
Site & Forum Admin
PostPosted: 29 Aug 2011 22:15
I've been keeping my eyes on Craigslist for several months now, looking for an original Ford Four-Seasons topper (a.k.a. camper shell, canopy). These were Leer toppers which were constructed specifically for the '73-'79 trucks, to match the more-angular rear cab wall. I occasionally do run across them, but they're usually too far away to be feasible for pick-up. I did find one listed last week in a city about 250 miles away and was just about ready to call the seller and discuss purchasing it from him, when last Friday night I ran across a Craigslist posting by a local salvage yard about 80 miles away. In this ad, they stated they had a bunch of toppers that they simply wanted to give away. These four pictures were posted in the ad:

Image Image
Image Image

Looking at these small pictures, I could tell immediately that the white one was indeed a Four Seasons topper! I was excited, until I read in the ad that this yard was only open Monday-Friday...and I was reading this on Friday night...which meant I had to wait until Monday to go get it. I was excited, so it was a long weekend hoping nobody would get to it first!

It was going to be a slow day at work today, I called into work first thing this morning and told them I wouldn't be in until after lunch. I then hopped in the truck and headed out to the local car/truck accessories shop to get some hold-down clamps, and then I hit the road. (And I have to admit I did push the speed limit a bit getting there!) ;)

Upon arrival, I ran out to where the toppers were stored and was excited to still see the white one sitting there. I was allowed to drive my truck into the yard, and four employees helped me lift it up onto my truck....and I left with my new treasure.